Abbott declares state of disaster in anticipation of Tropical Storm Harvey

Texas Governor Greg Abbott has declared a State of Disaster for 30 Texas counties in anticipation of Tropical Storm Harvey, which is expected to make landfall along the Gulf Coast this weekend. 

The Republican governor preemptively declared a State of Disaster on Wednesday, August 23, 2017 for Aransas, Austin, Bee, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, Brazoria, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Harris, Jackson, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kleberg, Lavaca, Liberty, Live Oak, Matagorda, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Victoria, Waller, Wharton and Wilson counties. 

According to the National Weather Service, Tropical Storm Harvey is expected to intensify in the coming days. This could lead to severe flooding, storm surges, and damaging winds. 

“Texans believe in taking action and always being prepared in the event of an emergency,” said Governor Abbott.  “That is why I am taking every precaution prior to Tropical Depression Harvey making landfall. Preemptively declaring a state of disaster will allow Texas to quickly deploy resources for the emergency response effort in anticipation of the storm's hazardous conditions.” 

Earlier, Abbott ordered the State Operations Center (SOC) to elevate its readiness level. Abbott also had the SOC make available any and all state resources to assist in preparation, rescue, and recovery efforts. 

For the latest updates regarding Tropical Storm Harvey, click here