2022 Midterm Elections: Republicans retain most Texas statewide offices

Besides winning the races for governor, lieutenant governor, and attorney general, the GOP maintained its control of state leadership in other positions as well.

Gov. Greg Abbott, Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick, and Attorney General Ken Paxton all won re-election in the state that hasn’t seen a Democrat win a statewide office since 1994.

Below is a look at some of the races and you can click on a candidate's name to learn more about them.

Comptroller of Public Accountants

Glenn Hegar won reelection as Texas comptroller, beating Democratic challenger Janet Dudding.

Glen was first elected in 2014. This will be his third term in office.

The comptroller is the chief financial officer of Texas, serving as the state tax collector, accountant, revenue estimator, treasurer and purchasing manager. They report the condition of Texas finances, and provide economic development assistance to local governments and private businesses.

Glenn Hegar (R)
Janet T. Dudding (D)
V. Alonzo Echevarria-Garza (L)

Commissioner of the General Land Office

Dawn Buckingham has been elected Texas land commissioner, beating Democratic challenger Jay Kleberg.

Buckingham will be serving her first term in the position and is currently a Texas state senator representing District 24.

The current land commissioner, George P. Bush, vacated his seat to run for Texas attorney general in the Republican primary.

As head of the Texas General Land Office (GLO), the land commissioner manages state lands, including oil and gas properties and the Alamo. They also oversee investments for public education.

During their four-year term, the land commissioner chairs the Veterans Land Board, which administers programs for Texas veterans, and is responsible for environmental protection of the Texas coast.

Dawn Buckingham (R)
Jay Kleberg (D)
Alfred Molison, Jr. (G)

Commissioner of Agriculture

Sid Miller won reelection in Texas, beating Democratic challenger Susan Hays. The AP called the race just after 12:30 a.m. Wednesday.

Miller was first elected to the position in 2014, and this will be his third term.

The agriculture commissioner’s main job is promoting Texas agriculture by facilitating trade and marketing of agricultural products and more. They provide financial help to farmers and help solve issues related to natural disasters.

Additionally, their duties include protecting crops from pests and diseases to certifying organic produce. During their four-year term, they are in charge of administering the national school meal programs for Texas children.

Sid Miller (R)
Susan Hays (D)

Railroad Commissioner

Wayne Christian has won reelection as Texas railroad commissioner, defeating Democratic challenger Luke Warford.

Christian, who is the agency’s chair, was first elected to the position in 2016.

The Texas Railroad Commission is made up of three members, who are each elected to serve six-year terms. Although they're called railroad commissioners, they haven't had any authority over railroads since 2005.

They are in charge of regulating the oil and gas industry in Texas, gas utilities, pipeline safety, safety in the liquified petroleum gas industry and surface coal and uranium mining.

Wayne Christian (R)
Luke Warford (D)
Jaime Andres Diez (L)
Hunter Wayne Crow (G)

Supreme Court

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 3

Debra Lehrmann (R)
Erin A. Nowell (D)
Thomas Edward Oxford (L)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 5

Rebeca Huddle (R)
Amanda Reichek (D)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 9

Evan Young (R)
Julia Maldonado (D)

Court of Criminal Appeals

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5

Scott Walker (R)
Dana Huffman (D)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6

Jesse F. McClure, III (R)
Robert Johnson (D)

Member, State Board of Education, District 5

Perla Muñoz Hopkins (R)
Rebecca Bell-Metereau (D)


The Associated Press and FOX 26 Houston contributed to this report.