Abbott adds 15 counties to flood May disaster proclamation

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) -- Gov. Greg Abbott has added 15 counties to his June 1 disaster declaration arising from a month of severe weather and flooding, bringing to 46 the number of Texas counties covered by the proclamation.

The Wednesday proclamation adds Brown, Caldwell, Callahan, Clay, Comanche, Eastland, Falls, Hardin, Harris, Houston, Madison, Somervell, Stephens, Travis and Trinity counties to the proclamation. Already covered by the proclamation were Austin, Bandera, Bastrop, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Coleman, Colorado, Erath, Fayette, Fort Bend, Grimes, Hidalgo, Hood, Jasper, Kleberg, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Lubbock, Montgomery, Palo Pinto, Parker, Polk, Robertson, San Jacinto, Tyler, Walker, Waller, Washington and Wharton counties.

The proclamation authorizes the use of all available state resources and eases regulatory requirements on emergency contracting and procurement in response to severe weather and flooding since May 26.