Governor Abbott issues disaster declaration after severe flooding

Texas Governor Greg Abbott holds a roundtable discussion with victims, family, and friends affected by the Santa Fe, Texas school shooting at the state capital on May 24, 2018 in Austin, Texas. (Photo by Drew Anthony Smith/Getty Images)

Texas Governor Greg Abbott issued a State Disaster Declaration on Tuesday for 18 counties that have been impacted by the severe flooding throughout the region

The counties included in the declaration are Bastrop, Burnet, Colorado, Fayette, Hood, Jim Wells, Kerr, Kimble, La Salle, Live Oak, Llano, Mason, McMullen, Nueces, Real, San Patricio, Travis and Williamson. 

"Texas is taking immediate action to respond to the threat of recent severe weather and flooding across the state,” Abbott in a statement. “We have made available all necessary resources to respond as quickly and effectively as possible to this disaster, and to assist those in harm’s way. I thank all our first responders and local officials on the ground in these communities for their efforts to assist fellow Texans during this dangerous event.”